Idiots

There is a second wave of “boycotting French merchandise” in China because, you guessed it, the French president met Dalai Lama again. BBC reported that some guy posted on the discussion board of China.com, saying something like I swear with my real name that I will boycott any French merchandise for life. This is idiotic on several levels.

First, most of the Chinese don’t even know what Dalai lama looks like, let alone the history of Tibet. His photos are banned in China. I really don’t know why they find it no problem fighting such a faceless figure. Why faceless? Out of disrespect, respect, or maybe fear?

Second, Dalai Lama probably has met most of the world leaders. That guy, along with other “patriotic Chinese” really should boycott all merchandises from all the countries whose leaders met, greeted, and shook hands with Dalai Lama. That probably includes, but is not limited to, North America, most of the EU nations, Japan, and others. Ah….bummer! I guess they definitely won’t be reading my post, since it’s on the internet and cannot be accessed without using a computer which, most often than not, runs either Windows, Mac OS, or Linux, all of which are from freaking America, whose presidents and senators welcomed Dalai Lama like welcoming the Santa! All I can say is, I don’t agree with those patriotic Chinese. But I respect those who put words into real action. Good luck out there guys!

Lastly, dear leader Chairman Mao met, greeted, and shook hands with Dalai Lama before. As far as I can remember from the footage, they dined at the same table too. Also, Dalai Lama’s representatives has been negotiating with the Chinese government up until several weeks ago. If the boycotters have to put China onto the boycotting list, which I think they should, I cross my fingers and toes for their glorious crusade.

One more personal note, patriotic Chinese? Sounds more like idiotic Chinese to me.

One Response to Idiots

  1. Porfiriy says:

    I’ve come to learn that patriotism (aka nationalism – some people say there’s a value difference) in almost all its forms requires some form of willful idiocy on the part of the patriot. You don’t love a country because its a country, you love a country because of what it stands for – the former requires nothing more than a lifelong education that tells you your country is right no matter what it does, the latter requires a bit more thinking.

Leave a Reply

