Guilty for Spreading “Hate Speech”

BBC reported that 59 Tibetans were arrested for spreading rumors and trying to stir up racial hatred and incite violence. It’s already funny enough that spreading rumors can so easily be a crime in China, as if the Chinese public are particularly stupid and they can easily be misled by rumors. (I don’t remember any of the conspiracy theorists who claim that the US government planned 9/11 attack were ever arrested. Aren’t those more “harmful” rumors? How about those who claim that the US has never landed on the moon? Doesn’t that harm the “great image of this great nation”?) But what I want to talk about is the crime for spreading hatred.

Again, I don’t want to talk about whether spreading hate speech can be a crime in itself. For the purpose of this post, let’s assume that it’s super bad and should be punished by law. The problem is, why only Tibetans are arrested for spreading hate speech rather than the Han people? Is this an indication that none of the Han people publicly made any hate speech against Tibetans, Uyghurs, Taiwanese, Japanese, French, Americans, etc.? Clearly there are enough hate speech from the Han people. But apparently they face no punishment from the law.

Let’s further assume that areas like Tibet, Taiwan and so on are indisputably part of China, and those minorities are all, along with the Han, Chinese. Then this current case naturally comes down to this simple fact: 59 Chinese made hate speech against some other Chinese. So the conclusion is Chinese should not make hate speech against each other. Again, why no arrest made for those Han (who are Chinese) who made hate speech against Tibetans, Uyghurs, and Taiwanese (who are also Chinese)?

You see, I am typing this post with my fingers. I don’t remember the last time I was shouting to people again and again that these ten fingers are part of my body; I don’t remember the last time I claim that my fingers are plotting to leave my body; I don’t remember the last time that I decided to punish my fingers for something they did to my body while ignoring the bad things that my other body parts did to my fingers. Sounds pretty ridiculous, isn’t it? That’s about as ridiculous as this whole China’s sovereignty and nationalism are. The Han have always treated Tibetans, Uyghurs, and Taiwanese as de facto aliens. Now the louder they claim that they own these people and lands, the more retarded their logic seems.

Leave a Reply

